In today's world, modern workplace rules and structures differ and employees are commonly viewed as individuals working to achieve an organizational goal rather than personal developments. Although, it is quite important to befriend your co-workers at the same time it is also partially crucial to ensure that your friendship does not hinder your performance.

In today's world, modern workplace rules and structures differ and employees are commonly viewed as individuals working to achieve an organizational goal rather than personal developments. Although, it is quite important to befriend your co-workers at the same time it is also partially crucial to ensure that your friendship does not hinder your performance. On on hand, I do agree to the fact that maintaining friendly relationships with other employees comes with a cost and can often be disappointing. Firstly, making friends at times forces us to choose between our out of work personality and in work personality to clash and that can often cost us our jobs, later you realize that it probably did not even matter much to the person for whom we might have gone out of our way to fight for. Moreover, trying to maintain organization relationships are difficult and makes us somehow annoyed with the co-workers. For example: Relationships often burden people with unsaid responsibilities like arranging a birthday party or spending our weekends only because you work with them; this extreme familiarity can result in us being annoyed and somehow we start to ignore them which creates misunderstandings and psychological issues in the place. On the other hand, somehow I also disagree to the statement. Firstly, creating a bond with other people can lead to breaking the ice or tough barriers that are needed to achieve goals in our organization. As, most employees are spending their essential morning hours with other employees so positive and warm relations should be emphasized on in order to lead the day with more productivity. Secondly, friendlier relationships can enhance people morally and nourish them mentally as well. People who struggle to share their opinions or hardships they face with their family are more likely to share them with people who are not in direct relation with them. So, employees can somehow be mentally better by sharing their problems and strengthen relations for life. Maintaining relations comes with a price but at the same time it is quite rewarding in terms of providing immense mental support and providing fresh perspective towards life and work. A healthy balance definitely needs to be kept in mind while maintaining organizational friendship because if maintained well it can sail your boat towards or success or be the demise of your failing career.