some people think children should not be allowed to play computer games in their free time while others argue that this activity can be possitive for children. Discuss both views

The issue of the merits or otherwise of playing computer games is a controversial matter. While some argue that this activity has a detrimental impact on youngsters, thus they should not be permitted to play them, others state that they can be highly beneficial. This essay will examine both views and argue that participating in gaming should be regarded as acceptable if done in moderation. On the one hand, there are indeed some negatives to gaming. Firstly, it could have a detrimental impact on one’s health. If one plays games excessively then they may neglect other areas, in a particular sport. Thus, gaming can result in youngsters becoming unfit and overweight. Another issue is it could make them isolated and anti-social. Since gamers often spend many hours alone they do not develop friendships or social skills. Hence, this may have a harmful impact on their mental health. However, it is the writer’s view that gaming can have a positive impact on minors provided that they are not played excessively. Firstly, one reason for this is they provide an effective way to relax and limit stress. Currently, many students suffer from study pressure. However, computer games may provide a way to escape study stress, thus, they can improve youngster’s mental health. Furthermore, some games may aid mental development. For example, some games require focus and logic. Thus they may expand one’s mental abilities in ways that academic study can not. In conclusion, although it may be the case that excessive use of computer games may lead to poorer health and more anti-social conduct, they can also bring huge benefits such as a means of relaxing while enhancing one’s mental skills. Thus, it is the author's view that as long as such games are played in balance with other activities they should be regarded as a positive in youngster’s lives.