Some people think books are losing importance as a source of information and entertainment. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Books have been a prominent source of information throughout history. However, some people reckon that it has started to lose its importance in recent times. This essay will lay out the reasons behind its decreasing importance and show the extent to which this fact holds. In ancient India, almost every scholastic achievements were written down and passed on for generations to come via books. Similarly, books have had holden the highest regard across the globe as a primary source of knowledge and entertainment. Some of the great examples supporting this evidence are, 'Da Vinci Code', 'Hamlet' by Shakespeare, 'Geeta', the Vedas, and '1984'. These books cover a variety of topics, from literature and entertainment to wars. However, in recent times, with the advent of the internet and social media, books have started to lose its importance. People have displaced books with smartphones consisting of applications that serve information and entertainment purposes. Social media has significantly reduced people's attention span by providing a plethora of content to consume in a strikingly small unit of time, thereby decreasing focus levels and the person's grip to read a book. For instance, applications like Instagram and TikTok allow users to upload a minute-long video. Additionally, people's lives have become fast-paced, and they are working under a hectic schedule, keeping that in mind, some organisations have started to roll out applications that provide a summary of an entire book within five to six pages. People tend to use such applications over actual physical books in order to save time. In conclusion, books are significantly displaced with people's fast-paced lives in current times and with the internet just being one click away. Hence, I completely agree that books have started to lose their prominence in human lives.