Earlier technological developments brought more benefits and changed the lives of ordinary people more than recent technological developments. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly believed that the technological advancements of the past had a bigger contribution in people's life than the advancements of recent times. I disagree with this notion and I believe the developments of today have influenced people's life more. The first reason why the recent developments have made more impact is the rapid speed at which technology is progressing nowadays. Earlier it took years before another breakthrough in technology could be noticed, whereas now every now and then we hear of new gadgets with new features in the market. For example, radio came as early as 1920's, but it took two decades for the TV to make its presence. However, the cell phone technology has developed much faster with the onset of video calling features now. Another reason is that recent developments like the Internet have had an impact in nearly every field of life. By contrast, none of the previous developments had such a remarkable or widespread impact. Nowadays, because of the Internet, education can be reached to the remotest corners of the world and even many jobs can be done sitting at home. All types of travel tickets can be bought online and even banking and shopping can be done at home. By contrast, no earlier technology had such a widespread impact. Last but not least, because of the fast pace of communication, the spread of technology is also much faster than before. For example, in the past, if a type of development took place in the US, it took months or even years to make its presence in India. However, now every technological gadget makes its presence almost simultaneously in the whole world. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that the technological gadgets and advancements of recent times have influenced our life much more significantly than the developments of previous times.