some people think a crime should have a fixed punishment

It is often argued that there are more advantages to have a fixed sentence for a crime than to be judged individually. I completely agree with is idea especially in the case of serious crimes like terrorism. Moreover, this fixed punishment might be a deterrent that could prevent committing similar crimes. In addition, it is said that in this way the family of the victim might have the feeling of justice by remembering that it will be a rough treatment for the murderer so the desire to revenge would be les especially in the middle east country where the revenge plays a big role in the absence of justness. Besides that the less serious wrongdoing like speeding and traffic fine might incur punishment thus the number of the accident could decrease. However, it is also suggested that every case has its own standings that should have taken into account. For instance, the age of criminal, it would not be acceptable to treat an underage person, who cannot be responsible of his or her action, in the same way of person with a recidivist. Furthermore it should be judged according to his mental situation is he fully conscious or on drugs and so on. I attend to believe that the justice is the key to live in a peaceful society. Perhaps if every guilty paid for his mistake, it would be possible to fulfil this task. Yet, it is also fair to consider the motivation behind this crime, since there are crimes which are committed as self-defence, could be under pressure and maybe manslaughter.