accelerating urbanization and landscape

The world has experienced accelerating urbanization during the last century (He 2015). Urban populations continue to increase and cities are growing denser and/or larger, with some mega cities reaching more than 20 million inhabitants. Not only does this issue make cities particularly vulnerable to climate change meteorological hazards (Masson 2020)like reduces the productivity of land, desertification, food security, hotter, drier summers, warmer, wetter winters (Rowland 2008, Dupar 2019), but also the challenges of solving the environmental problems brought by this fast urban expansion, particularly in developing countries, will continue to rise(He 2015). The challenges such as non-integrated and inadequate management of urban infrastructure, weakening the position of natural environment in sustainable urban development, lack of natural spaces in cities, destruction of biodiversity in urban landscape, high cost of management and maintenance in urban landscape in which green or open spaces are deemed incalculable for people’s welfare as well as wildlife continue to develop. Urban landscapes play an essential role in supporting urban ecological and social systems. For example, city parks, private gardens, and green street space offer essential ecosystem services in urban areas. Natural ecosystems such as urban parks, forests, green belts and their components (i. e. trees, water) enhance the standards of living in numerous ways. As Ian McHard describes the place of nature in the city, clearly the problem of man and nature is not one of providing a decorative background for the human play, or even ameliorating the grim city: it is the necessity of sustaining nature as source of life because life is that endures, not artifacts(McHarg 1971). This challenge lead us to this matter that landscape design and urban landscape are as an interdisciplinary practice in general meaning today are powerless by facing urban realities (Mozuriunaite 2018). Therefore, sustainable landscape planning, design and management are essential if we are to adapt our environments to a changing climate and to mitigate future change. because in many instances, landscape responses incorporate a range of mitigation and adaptation principles, with many of these being interlinked and mutually-reinforcing, whilst also providing wider socio-economic and environmental benefits (Alizadeh 2019). In fact, according to the Einstein’s famous quote that: “Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them", it sounds that, the holistic approach to place-making of the landscape architect is critical to the creation of environments that are robust and flexible to climate change. These skills need to be employed at the earliest possible opportunity in the design and delivery of projects(Landscape Institute 2008).