Some people thing certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars

Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. The reason being, long hours hard work combined with no payment cause better behavioral change than being put behind bars. This way not only the criminal can do something positive for the society, he also can earn his freedom. On one hand this seems like a pretty good idea. Some of the hard work done from government employes can be transfered to criminals, trying to pay their freedom. It's a win win situatuin for both sides. On the other hand, there are a some moral questions, which need to be answered, like will the sentence duration be lowered if the prisoners do what they are told to do, or will it stay the same. If the sentence stays the same, the whole idea will be more of a punishment, rather than a way to get your freedom. In conclusion i personally thing that any prisone can choose to do unpaid comunity work, and in return his sentence duration to be lowerd. There are some poeople that want just to stay in jail and be lazy, telling this people to go out and mine iron will be very unplesent for them.