Some people tend to go shopping in big supermarkets rather than some small shops or local markets. Why do you think it? (Causes) Is it a positive or negative development?

Owing to the rapid development of marketing strategies and logistics, most local dwellers have been purchasing either groceries or food in chain supermarkets instead of individual conveniences for the recent few decades. This essay aims to indicate the underlying causes for this situation as well as elaborate the disadvantageous consequence of that. First of all, it is undoubted that these series enterprises are able to offer a good bargain for their customers by lowering their selling prices. In view of importing a vast amount of products from suppliers, these giant businesses are capable of reducing the profit margin in order to seize the market share through establishing a persistent loyalty of the customers. For example, a membership scheme is the most useful tool to achieve a high return rate for their customers, involving a rewarding score system and providing discounts for further shopping. However, there will be a devastating development towards the market and even further consumers if a monopoly market occurs in those chain supermarkets. It is not uncommon that some genius full-time mothers complain about the ordinary tariffs of meats which are nearly twice as higher as those that were under a special sale. Therefore, the ultimate expense may be higher if the customers have not realized the reasonable market price, but they have no choice to select other small shops because of being overwhelmingly eliminated across the market. To conclude, the prime reason for residents who go shopping in chain supermarkets is the attractive prices set up, budgeting low expenditure. Meanwhile, the establishment of monopolization might ultimately be detrimental to the consumer’s right. Hence, I advise certain legislation should be implemented by the government to prevent that this occasion happens.