Some people suggest that when we learn a language, we should also learn the cultures and lifestyles of this country.

There’s an ongoing debate of whether or not we should learn the cultures and lifestyles of the country when we want to learn a new language. In my opinion, I fully agree with the viewpoint. First and foremost, I do agree it is very important for us to learn the grammar and vocabulary if we want to advance a new language. However if we realize, we learned our mother language not by books. We observed how our family communicated, how our teacher told us stories, and then we tried to imitate them. We know when to use formal language, when to use sarcasm, when to talk casually through a life experience. This concept should be applied when we want to learn a new language. As an Indonesian, I have learned english since kindergarten because it is a must have subject in my school. However, no matter how good my grammatical knowledge is, I still stutter when I talk in English whenever I travel to English speaking countries. I realized this often happens because I didn't understand the culture. For example, in Indonesia or any other asian country, it is highly impolite to talk casually with elderly especially to call them by their names. We usually call our aunt with “tante” before the name or “uncle” if he’s a male. But when I met my American uncle, he told me to just call him Bobby, which is his name. This may seem simple but it actually can dramatically change our relationship. In conclusion, I highly agree we should also learn the cultures, manager, and lifestyles of the country when we want to advance a new language.