Some people spend a lot of money attending cultural or sports events. Is it a good or a bad thing? Give your opinion and examples from your own experience.

Definitely a good development, gives something for people to aspire to. It also most likely begets higher revenues for the performers and promoters, which should ultimately lead to a even more events. This undoubtedly leads to greater monetary and cultural wealth for a society. Take for example the English Premier League (EPL), this entertainment spectacle has brought considerable wealth into cities such as Manchester, Liverpool and London. Higher ticket prices lead to better wages for football stars, which lead to more quality players wanting to play in the EPL, leading to a considerable increase in high net-worth individuals residing in these cities. There has undoubtedly been a positive self-fulfilling cycle of improvement and quality, fuelled by increasing prices. Furthermore high prices will most likely mean higher tax revenues for the government, this is definitely beneficial for society.