Some people say traditional celebrations are getting less popular. What are the causes of this, and how can we make them become popular again?

It is undoubtedly true that modern activities are going to rival traditional celebrations. It is believed by some that a myriad of traditional events are losing their popularity at an alarming rate. In this essay, I am going to discuss some of the reasons why traditional festivals are becoming less attractive for some people and how to tackle this matter. One of the main reasons of the problem is lack of attention from the government. It is often said that the government tends to promote international events as a magnet to attract foreign tourists rather than traditional events. A standout example of this is the Sea Games event in 2011 when the Indonesian government was elected as the host. In fact, it spent billion rupiahs for exorbitant advertisements and a plethora of sport facilities renovation which are considered vital to make the event successful. As a result, despite celebrating traditional events in their neighbourhood, people would be more attracted to attend global events which are more appealing. To tackle this issue, the government should give equal attention to local and international celebrations which could make people enticed to come and enjoy cultural events. Unless the government spends a fair amount of expenditure on both celebrations, the traditional ones would eventually disappear and be forgotten by local people. The second cause of the problem is the massive development of a city. By and large, the government has established a myriad of leisure amenities which enables people, particularly adolescents, as an exciting place to let their hair down on a typical weekend. A standout example of this is Disneyland, where both domestic and foreign people spend their free time with their families and friends to explore and seek new experiences. Consequently, more and more people would prefer to visit modern recreational places than traditional carnivals. The way forward could be parents as their inner circle should educate millennials about the importance of local celebrations which aim to protect the culture’s heritage. To sum up, the decline in popularity of traditional celebrations has become increasingly prevalent nowadays due to the government’s policy and substantial expansion. This is a serious problem, and allocating more budget to traditional events as well as providing education to children are essential to solve this issue, otherwise, our ancestors’ traditions would no longer exist in the future. In my view, the main responsibility to combat this cultural issue lies with the government and parents.