Many people have to retire at the age 60 or 65. However, some suggest that these people should be allowed to work for as long as they wish. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this situation? doloo

In the modern society, when workers become over around 60 years old, they retire their jobs. Nevertheless, some people argue that the retirement age should be decided by themselves. This essay examines both sides of this argument and draws the conclusion that the result of this trend is undesirable because of financial and physical reasons. On the one hand, those who are over 60 continue working carries some benefits. One of them is that it would be a solution to labor shortage. Since we are facing declining birthrates and aging population issues, overaged people working would be helpful for many companies, contributing to the rise of working population. This results in the increase of tax revenue as well. Furthermore, a number of corporation can save time for education to workers. If over 60 years-old employee keep working at the same company, the company do not need to teach them how to work as they know about their work well, which allows the other employee to focus on their work instead of teaching new workers. On the other hand, the drawbacks of overaged people continue working should be considered. Firstly, it would be costly to keep hiring them instead of young employee. Since overaged workers are trained and skilled, companies would need to pay more salary to them than non-skilled workers. Secondly, there would be some risks that employee keep working after 60 years old. As their physical strength would deteriorate with age, they might get hurt at work including manual labor from the long-term perspective. In conclusion, while there are some upsides with overaged people keep working, in my opinion, the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the advantages when considering that the downsides may persist in the longterm.