Some people say tourism has a negative impact on the local people and the environment. Do you agree?

Nowadays, tourism plays a vital role in the economic development of nations. While I agree that the travel industry provides predominantly benefits, I believe that it causes various negative effects on local people and the environment. On the one hand, the advantages of tourism could not be denied. To begin with, tourism creates employment opportunities for indigenous people. The reason is tourists visiting these regions have a high demand for goods and services and are mostly willing to pay higher than average prices. As a result, this helps native people to have a reliable source of income and enhance their living standards. . Secondly, the cultural interchange between visitors and local people is facilitated by tourism. For instance, indigenous peoples can acquire new languages, make new friends, and get exposed to other cultures from travelers. Therefore, it could enable local residents to broaden their knowledge about cultural variety and share their country’s customs and culture with people all around the world. On the other hand, I believe that tourism has been a major cause of environmental pollution and destruction. This is because the invasion of tourists to remote regions often litter wherever they go and do not bother to clean after themselves in areas they have visited. As a result, this may lead to conditions such as dirt roads or clogged sewage systems in these places, which negatively and directly affect local people’s living conditions. Furthermore, indigenous people have to sacrifice their natural resources in order to meet the insatiable demands of tourists. In several mountainous areas of Vietnam, for example, local people cut down huge sections of forest to make handicrafts or furniture or to build hotels, resorts for visitors, which may contribute to environmental deterioration. In conclusion, I would have to say that expanding the tourism industry in a country is a positive development if it is properly managed, and the environmental and cultural impacts are closely monitored and minimized.