Some people say that zoos have no useful purpose. Others believe that zoos are beneficial in many ways. Discuss and give your opinion.

A diversity of animal species from leopards and eagles to lizards have been captured and kept in zoos across the globe for centuries. This practice is sometimes considered to be one that violates animal rights and causes these animals to lose their instincts. Despite these drawbacks, zoos are still beneficial, as they provide humans with a great place to learn about animals, and endangered animals with a great shelter. Zoos, according to some, are valueless. There is a common belief that the act of caging an animal is already an infringement of animal rights. The matter can be even worse when some caged animals are bullied, mistreated and exploited when they are forced to perform in shows aimed at attracting visitors. Zoologists may also argue that these creatures may lose their natural instincts during the course of being captive, and they can be as a result incapable of returning to the wild in the future. A tiger, for example, may lose its hunting nature when it is fed on a daily basis. However, there is compelling evidence that zoological gardens are invaluable not only for humans but also for the animals themselves. For young children and biology students, these venues can provide a resourceful learning environment, where both an understanding of and love for nature may easily evolve as physical contact with animals is possible. As a result, even the faunae from the furthest habitats such as penguins from the South Pole can be learnt about and appreciated. In addition to this, zoos have long offered to thousands of endangered species a home where they could thrive and breed their offspring. This has proved crucial as over-hunting, deforestation and climate change have threatened to destroy the natural habitats of some wild animals. In conclusion, zoos are places where people learn about and develop their love for animals and where endangered species are nurtured and protected. These advantages outweigh the disadvantages, such as the chance that animals are exploited and bullied, or the possibility that they gradually lose their instincts. All these disadvantages can be lessened if more is invested in zoos to turn them into a better living space for animals.