Do athletes deserve their salaries.

It is widely thought that sportspeople do not deserve their salaries. However, I completely disagree with this claim and will explain why they really deserve it. One primary reason why athletes are worth their pay is for the amount of effort they have made. Sportspeople must practice for years until they become successful, and even then their chances to succeed may be low. Many people consider sport easy, thinking that soccer players get enormous salaries for merely kicking balls. Meanwhile, what they fail to realize is that there is a massive amount of work behind it. Professional athletes, such as Usain Bolt, had to train for more than 20 years to get where they are now. These efforts simply cannot go unrecognized, and thus I think their pay is well-deserved. Another reason is that sport is a multi-billion dollar industry. That is, sports teams and athletes are widely sponsored and salaries do not pose any serious problems on sports clubs. Many fans and sports enthusiasts, who are ready to pay, buy tickets to watch their favorite teams play. There are also sponsors, advertisements, bets, not to mention a large number of merchandises teams sell in order to generate profit. Had clubs not have thought their players worthy, they would not have had such earnings. Moreover, the salaries of players make up only a tiny fraction of this giant industry. These points prove that sportspeople are fairly paid. To summarize, athletes indeed are certainly worth their pay due to the hard work they had to do and also because their teams can pay them that much.