Some people say that wild-life trade should be banned.

It is believed that the process of buying and selling wild animals should be criminalized. In my opinion, I strongly agree with prohibiting such activities due to a variety of reasons: overexploitation and the risks of consuming bushmeat. First and foremost, the commercialisation of wild life may cause overexploitation. The legal global wildlife trade is worth roughly 300 billion dollars not taking illegal trade into account. A study have shown that human kind has killed off 60 percent of wild life creating a problem of overexploitation. As this issue go on, the natural balance of ecosystem will be disrupted, leading species to the verge of extinction. Furthermore, wild-life trade may push the consumption of bush meat, exposing consumers with serious risks. Bush meat is considered a delicacy in some parts of the world, but there may be a underlying risk of acquiring zoonotic diseases for consumers. To name but a few, Ebola virus, cholera, small pox and many other transmissive diseases from bush meat. ‘ Wet Market’, where wild animal’s meat is often found in Asia, contributes to the emergence of many infectious diseases. A good case in point is a ‘wet market’ in Wuhan (China) where Covid-19, which caused a global pandemic, was initially founded. Those who are in favor of wild-life trade may claim that banning it will take away a source of protein from parts of the world’s population such as people in central Africa. However, this benefit can not outweigh the danger that it gives. People can still use farming as an alternative solution for the lack of protein. In conclusion, I strongly agree that the dealings of wild animals should be forbidden for it may lead to overexploitation and putting consumers of bush meat at great risks.