Some people say that using nuclear power is better than others.

The number of nuclear power stations has significantly risen during the last few decades. This trend demonstrates the growing popularity of this source, which looks promising in our eternal struggle for cheap and unlimited energy. However, there are some undeniable drawbacks with nuclear energy which caused disasters we can't ignore. All things considered, I partly agree with the idea that nuclear power is a better solution to the global’s dire need of energy than other sources of energy. It is indisputable that nuclear energy is extremely stable due to its independence from any other sources like sun or wind, etc. Moreover, it can generate a huge amount of energy, which is estimated to be ten times more dense than the energy released whilst burning fossil fuels. The fact that one nuclear plant can provide a quarter of New York City electricity is an iron-cast evidence of the case. In addition, nuclear power reactors do not produce any carbon emission, which is a huge advantage over renewable energy which can have bad effects on animals and their habitats. Producing nuclear energy is not only carbon-low but also relatively cheap, which can get even lower thanks to the advances in technology. Nevertheless, the disadvantages are also considerable in this day and age. However safe it may seem, nuclear power can create a disaster if it explodes. The Chernobyl disaster in Ukraine, 1986 in which the death toll exceeded 60, 000 strongly exemplifies the idea. Nuclear power can also have a substantial impact on the environment through mining and water discharge. Although the operation cost is affordable, the initial one to get a nuclear plant into work is very expensive. Moreover, the radioactive waste can leave a persistent impact on the environment for even a thousand years. Despite being an environment-friendly source of energy, nuclear power is still considered a non-renewable one. If we get reliant on nuclear power, there would be even more problems in the future. In short, nuclear power has its own downsides and advantages just like other sources of energy. It’s up to us whether the power is good or bad.