Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

There is no doubt that modern life is highly influenced by the daily news people receive about the events happening in their own region and worldwide. While some people want to get the information in the form of words, others' preference is to have visual representation of transferred information. I feel that words and pictures work more effectively when they accompany each other, as further discussed in this essay. To begin with, although news articles or verbal stories are very effective in transferring the full information, they lack the very essential thing which is the real life picture of things going on. This happens because it is arguably in human nature to get impressed by what they see rather than what they read. In this regard, pictures are much more effective in providing the atmosphere and emotions of the events. For example, if the daily news is retelling the story of a car accident, without seeing the photos of the accident place, one can not fully imagine the scope of the disaster, damaged cars and losses. On the other hand, the pictures alone can not capture the whole story and fail to provide the details of the causes, participants and results. Furthermore, the words alone can be misleading and confusing, because they often include the interpretation of the author and can be biased. In this regard, photos and videos are very helpful for the audience to accept the more neutral information and make their own judgment. In conclusion, both stories and pictures used for provision of information have its drawbacks, and if for the former one it is demonstrated by its failure to deliver the impressions as well as arguably biased nature, in the case of the latter shortfalls reflect itself in inability to go into details and background story. My view is that journalism shall strive to use both forms of information transmittal, because they are supplementing each other and filling in the gaps the other one may have.