some people say that there are more disadvantages of having a car than its advantages. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a car.

Many people argue that disadvantages of having a car outweigh its advantages. I completely agree with this view / argument, as despite offering comfort and being helpful in life threatening situations, a car needs heavy maintenance and causes environmental pollution. On the one hand, it is true that owing a car means you can have an enjoyable journey. A person can have a spacious seat to sit on, listen to music and enjoy privacy in an air-conditioned ambiance and thus make their ride comfortable, unlike on the public transport where people do not even have enough room to stand due to overcrowding, especially during peak hours. Moreover, personal vehicles are always beneficial during emergencies. To illustrate, if a family member is sick and needs medical help during odd hours, when finding cabs, trains or buses is extremely difficult, having a car is indeed a boon. On the other hand, it is an irrefutable fact that four wheelers are not pocket friendly. Fuel and maintenance are additional expenses associated with car ownership. People from the middle socioeconomic background often get into financial instability due to this add on expenditure. Furthermore, automobiles need fuel to run, which on burning causes release of carbon dioxide and other toxic gases that are harmful to the environment. These fumes not only cause global warming but also worsen air pollution. If people limit the use of personal cars and start using public vehicles, this problem of rise in global temperature will be mitigated to some extent. In conclusion, although cars provide comfort and can be quite beneficial in emergency situations, their maintenance costs and perilous impact on the planet cannot be ignored. Hence, in my opinion, there are more disadvantages than advantages to cars.