Some people say that the purpose of education is to prepare individuals to be useful to society. Others say its purpose is to prepare individuals to achieve personal ambitions.

While a lot of people consider that the true purpose of education is to help an individual to get skills to serve the needs of society, others believe that education ought to help to achieve personal goals. In my opinion, as far as education is chosen individually, it has to help people to achieve their own ambitions. On the one hand, it is often believed that all citizens ought to serve national interests foremost. For these people, the proper education should help people with obtaining socially useful skills and knowledge. Hence, it will be advantageous for a country. Furthermore, if everyone did choose from the specialisations that would help to become more successful and wealthy, society would face problems with filling important but not highly-paid vacancies. For instance, despite a nurse is not the most highly paid job, but one of the most admired and needed for society. Finally, many crucially important occupations do not require a degree at all, while their contribution to the economy is colossal. On the other hand, other people think that education should help to achieve personal ambitions because it often takes a lot of efforts and money to become a well-educated professional. Thus, these investments have to be recouped later by helping a person to achieve his life goals. Moreover, it can be claimed that if a person achieves his goals, society will benefit as well. For example, despite Steve Jobs was driven by his ambitions, he has built a great company, that pays an enormous amount of taxes. Personally, I fully support this viewpoint. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I firmly believe that the appropriate purpose of education is to help people achieve their goals.