Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

People have different views about the reasons for which some individuals are fond of learning a foreign language. While I completely agree with the statement that most people learn a new language in order to get a job or travel, I also believe there are others reasons that motivate people to consider the importance of learning a new dialect. Those who claim that travelling or working is the main motive for someone to take up a foreign language might argue that it is necessary to learn a local dialect of your host country when planning to go on holiday. This is because you will certainly interact with the local community and communication is the only way that can help you to find your feet in your new adventure. If a newcomer is not able to speak or even to learn some colloquial expressions, he or she would find his vacation tedious to some extent. Thus, the reasons for taking a new interest as language before going on vacation seem to be justified when considering the positive side of it. Therefore, there are further reasons why people want to learn a new language. Learning a foreign language for pleasure is one of them. Some individuals have no real reason to explain why they are taking up a new interest as learning an overseas language. They would argue that this is because they are fascinated by that dialect. Another reason is focus on local culture. Some individuals argue that they learn a language in order to broad their horizon about the local culture. And a direct connection between language and culture is thus seen as an effective way to follow. For example, it is becoming very popular to see many teenagers learning English because they want to apprehend what message American pop stars musicians convey as a message through their tunes. In conclusion, it is certainly true nowadays travelling and working is major areas that incentivize people to take up a foreign language. In addition to that, there are those who literally learn for pleasure and cultural goals.