Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. • Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Various problems are continuously surfacing due to adverse effects of overpopulation of urban areas. It has harmed us in many ways which can be solved by joint collaboration of government as well as individuals. I believe environmental contamination to be one of the most critical consequence of overpopulation of urban areas. Rapid increase in the inhabitants in city areas leads to difficult management of wastes. Human feces and non degradable wastes slowly and gradually corrupts the surrounding which results in various diseases and sickness being transmitted among people. For instance, we can take one of our most populated and developed city, Kathmandu, as an example. Rapid increment in the residents in the city has lead to increase in road traffic polluting the air. Similarly, unmanaged wastes are polluting the water sources. Because of this, Kathmandu has been listed as one of the most polluted city in the world in an international survey. These activities will gradually turn the city into wasteland. To resolve this imminent threat, authorities should create drainage systems and put air filters as well. Drainage systems will help in proper disposal of human excreta and other wastes. Air filters can help in getting rid of unnecessary air pollution. And individuals too should be careful not to throw the wastes around everywhere. They should be self aware and help impart this awareness to others as well. Deforestation comes hands in hands along with environmental pollution. Drastic increase in the population results in lack of settlement areas for the residents. And when people do not get enough areas for housing, they start advancing towards remaining forests, chopping down trees to create housing area for them. For now we can take my hometown Gorkha to explain these. There was a huge forest here before. But only about 30 percent of the forest remains here currently. And they are still expanding housing territory slowly decreasing the forest area. Government should create a restricted zone around the forest with fences. It would fend off the citizens from going any further from the fear of exploiting restricted zone. Individuals themselves should be careful not to overdo the expansion as it may lead to soil erosion and unstable land. Now, in conclusion, environmental pollution and deforestation can be depicted as serious mishaps caused by overpopulation. These two can be solved by execution of policies like inciting forests as restricted zone and building advance drainage systems.