Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an argument that some people claim that familiarity with other languages is just beneficial for the sake of travel and work. Whilst others think further beyond that and do not accept them as the only reasons. I completely agree with the last belief. On the one hand, the aim of being fluent in a foreign language is just for functional things like traveling and employing. According to growing relations between nations, more and more, the tourism industry is significantly climbing. Thus, it might be necessary to be able to speak the locals' native language, so as to take the advantage of the journey in different countries. In addition, employment is no longer limited to geographical borders. Nowadays employers are looking for a skilled one around the world, not just local seekers. So speaking another language would be a vantage to apply for a fulfilling job. On the other hand, learning a foreign language should not just be curbed to these functional purposes. The more people familiar with different languages, the more they can acquire knowledge and enrich the life experience. To illustrate this, someone who has this ability would access more various sources and references compared to someone who not knows any language except their mother tongue. Indeed, this access would assist to fulfill themselves with whatever they want to recognize. In other words, there would not be a language barrier for them. In conclusion, the aim of learning foreign languages differ from person to person. Some's vision just is restricted to journeys and work, while others', besides that, is a life-enriching experience, and In my opinion, this is more acceptable.