Many people feel it is a waste of money to try and save endangered animal species, for example the tiger or the blue whale. To what extent to do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is generally felt that it is not worthy for a country to spend a part of its financial resources on saving species that are facing extinction. I think it is unjustifiable to say that the act of protecting biodiversity is a biased deed when it can have considerable impacts on the life of humans as well. An ecosystem is known as groups of animals found in an area that interact with each other. These interactions makeup and maintain the environments, such as rainforests, mountains, and the ocean. Unfortunately, keeping the balance in such places is not an easy task. Many species are endemic to that habitat, and the loss of a specific type of animal triggers the loss of others, leading it to its extinction. For example, grey wolves are being hunted in the USA which a decrease in the number of beavers is the consequence. Due to the absence of these wolves, other species, like elks can graze freely on plants that are needed by beavers to survive. Needless to say, a well-balanced ecosystem helps in preserving the health of an environment. This ensures that human beings can have access to clean air, water, and fertile land for agriculture. Furthermore, rich soil enables mankind in producing enough food for consumption. Last but not least, environmental balance also provides us with plants that have medicinal properties. To conclude, when a variety of breeds are threatened, our health can be affected too. By funding projects run by environmentalists, not only we are ensuring a safer habitat for those species, but we are also contributing towards the well-being of all people around the world.