Tourism today creates a variety of problems, such as pollution due to flights, transport and dirty water. Do you think that governments should impose extra taxes on flights or accommodation to restrict today’s tourism industry? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In this modern world, traveling to different countries and exploring places is an activity people take interest in, but this interest also has its downside. Pollution related to flights and transport at present time is a factual issue, therefore it cannot be taken lightly. Governments may consider imposing an extra tax on hotel stays and transport ticket fares, but it is not the solution to those problems. Instead, this might create more conflicts in the long run. Today's tourism industry is growing rapidly than ever and people are taking heed on traveling locally or internationally further. Flights and cars are being used highly, releasing a high amount of greenhouse gases leading to air pollution. Many believe a considered solution to this problem is to increase taxes on flight fares and accommodation to decrease traveling, but this might lead to a world crisis. While people travel they spend a huge sum of money internationally, which is also a way nations may earn money. If tax increases in the tourism industry, people might consider traveling less, but it will also decrease the transaction of money worldwide. Less transaction of money in the long-term may lead to a bigger crisis and economic instability. Instead of trying to restrict the tourism industry, we need to come up with different solutions. Imposing increased taxes on people is definitely not one of them as it might stop them from taking a break from their hectic lives and acquire relaxment. In conclusion, people should not be burdened with further taxes just to restrict the tourism industry and decrease pollution. Whereas, governments should come up with alternate ways to shrink the amount of pollution.