Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language

Over recent years, more and more people have learned the second language for many reasons. Journeying and working abroad are definitely reasonable reasons to learn a foreign language. However, there are more than two reasons as mentioned above for being bilingual or multilingual. In this essay, I will examine the other objectives of studying new languages. It is understandable why people purposes to study foreign language are for international travel and for oversea working. To be clear, in terms of travelling, people who know foreign languages have ability to communicate with local people to obtain more information about attractive destinations. Moreover, knowing other languages; especially international language could protect tourists from overpriced during the trip. The next reason is working in a foreign country, in the past few years; globalization has permitted opportunity to work abroad in many countries and broaden the huge career path to non-citizen. Hence, the more chance in working oversea makes an impact to study another language. Nevertheless, travelling and working are not the only reason for learning foreign languages. People need to learn other languages for being outstanding when they apply for a job in their own country. For instance; there a plenty of Japanese company located in Thailand and it might be a favourable circumstance if applicants are able to speak in Japanese. To summarize, travelling and working abroad are not the only reason for learning foreign languages, but also been outstanding in finding a job in hometown country and other personal reasons. Therefore, it is clear that the some people say the only reason to learn foreign languages in order to travel and work international cannot be supported. After thorough analysis of this argument, it is noticeable that people attend other languages for many reasons, not only for work or for travel.