Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Our Mother Earth is currently facing lot of environmental problems like global warming, acid rain, air pollution, ozone layer depletion, climate change and many more affect every human, animal and nation on this planet. While I agree that reduced biodiversity is a serious problem, I believe that we are facing more pressing environmental concerns. Those believing that the extinction of various species is the most important problem argue that such loss triggers devastating consequences. To begin with, the number of beneficial plants and insects to crops is declining quickly, which makes crops become more vulnerable to pest and diseases. For instance, the disappearance of some bees pollinating fruits’ flowers may decrease the productivity of farms. Another reason is the fact that today wild plants and animals are still principal food sources in many developing countries. Therefore, loss of species will create extreme food insecurity in these areas and affect millions of people, especially those living under poverty line. On the other hand, I support the view that there are more urgent environmental concerns to tackle. One of the main problems could be pollution of air. Such contamination is created by fumes of vehicles and gases in industrial factories, creating serious health problems to humans such as lung cancer and respiratory diseases. In addition, climate change is also creating destructive impacts on human life. More specifically, extreme weather events have become more intense and frequent, like earthquake in Japan or frequent storms in Vietnam, which leads to critical infrastructure damages and calsulities. In conclusion, although the reduction of wildlife species is a serious problem, I believe that other major environmental concerns should also be considered.