Some people believe that capital punishment should not be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Capital punishment has existed in societies across the world since centuries. Many countries still use capital punishment as a punitive measure. In the recent years, people have started questioning the idea of capital punishment. Will capital punishment really make the individual a better human? Capital punishment was used in the earlier days because individuals lacked the understanding of crime. Crime was seen as a grave offence. There were no courts to prove oneself guilty or innocent. The lack of justice system pushed the criminals towards this punishment. Whereas in the recent years, many researchers and scientists have tried to understand the reason behind the crime. Psychologists have studied and tried to reason out the intentions of a crime. Some of the criminals are believed to be suffering from mental health issues since childhood whereas most times the environment they were brought up in were not stable and healthy. According to me, one needs to understand the motive behind a crime whether it was intentional or unintentionally. Although I believe grave crimes like cold blood murder or rape needs capital punishment. This crime is heinous.