Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a popular opinion claiming that the most important environmental problem of modern days is the ectinction of certain plants and animals. However, there are still some people, who think that other environmental issues are equally vital. There is no doubt, that dissappearance of particular species is a major concern, but some other matters like air pollution and global warming are serious threats as well. Throughout the history many species of plants and animals have become extinct and this tendancy continues as long as we do not put enough effort in protecting them. As as a result, our future generations would not get a chance to see numerous breeds existing today, as we did not get to see antient creatures like dinosaurs. On the other hand, changes in the cosystem is a natural process. According to Charles Darwin’s theory on natural selection, not all the varieties of living organism can survive harsh conditions and only those who are strong enough will continue living. Therefore, necessity of such process should not be denied. The important thing is humans should not play a big role in it and let the ecosystem follow its natural circle. It has to be mentioned that there are other changes that create significant hazard to the planet. Two main topics are air pollution and global warming. They are interconnected, since air pollution is major reason of global warming. Air pollution also causes health problems, for instance diseases related to throat cancer. Whereas, global warming can result in increased sea level, which put maritime cities under risk of flooding. To sum up, I think that although loss of particular species is a big problem, some other issues like air pollution and global warming are very important too.