Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Nowadays, there has been much discussion concerning environmental issues. Some people believe that the lost of biodiversity is the greatest calamity. However, others claim that there are more crucial environmental problems such as the the water and air pollution. This essay will discuss both views and provide my opinion which support the former statement. To begin with, it is claimed that the dangerous problems to human are the air and water pollutions. Those are the most essential ones because it threats the existence of humans. The contaminated water could boost the mortality rate. Research has showed that the poor quality of water has an adverse impact on people’s health which causes death. Furthermore, the air pollution is also the most harmful disaster for people. Breathing is the basic need of humans. The polluted air is the biggest disruption for human that bring negative impact to human health. To illustrate, residential communities near industry tend to have lung diseases due to the industrial pollution. Nevertheless, others believe that there are more important issues. This view believe that the loss of biodiversity is the primary catastrophe. First, the extinction of various flora and fauna could damage food chains. Those food chains are crucial to balance the ecosystems, especially to control predators. The extinction of various species of fauna will also affect human’s life because human diet consists of animal and plant and products. In addition, I believe that the most detrimental impact of biodiversity loss is the large-scale of upcoming disaster. For instance, the tropical rainforest in Indonesia has been converted into monoculture forestry, and as a result, the are land sliding and flooding in that area which cause a higher number of local people’s deaths. Moreover, the lack of biodiversity also gives unfavorable side-effect to medical research which contribute to human’s life expectancy. In fact, more than a quarter of medicine has produced from specific herbs. In conclusion, some people assert that water and air pollutions are the top-essential problems that lead to the human extinction. However, I believe that the biodiversity loss is the most crucial one because it can break the food chain, lead to the upcoming catastrophes, and affect medical research.