An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assigments. What are the aadvantages and disadvantages of this trend? rmwp

Nowadays, many schools provide technical devices for their students, like laptops and iPads and thereby, they are replacing printed materials like books. An main advantage of this is that we are saving paper and due to this, less deforestation is happening. However, an principle disadvantage is, that even young children have to work on a tablet and thus, they are confronted with technology at a very young age. Especially due to the current situation with COVID-19 and homeschooling, many schools only teach with tablets and computers anymore. Thus, students need tablets in order to learn and to be able to keep up with school work during the pandemic. This has also a positive effect on the environment. Due to fewer paper waste, less trees have to be cutten down and thereby, animals do not lose their living habitat. Furthermore, the process of global warming may get slower because trees will absorb the CO2 in the atmosphere. Another principle advantage is that students will learn how to use different technical devices and that’s a skill they have to have in the working- and business life. The developments in technology, which are happening due to globalization, are making an education in the use of different technical devices an necessity, nowadays. Despite all the advantages, the use of technical devices everyday at a young age brings also some downsides. The main disadvantage is, that not only high-school students have to work with tablets but also children in elementary schools. This is an increasing problem because children do not have a balance between school and playtime anymore. They are looking at a screen twenty four-seven and that’s not good for their personal development. It is necessary for them to learn how to write on a real paper and furthermore to read in real books. Due to the improvements in technology and COVID-19 children are playing less outside, instead they have school on their tablet and in the afternoon they play PlayStation or watch TV. Another principal disadvantage is that not every school offers their students a tablet. However, not every family has the money to buy their child a tablet. This is a big problem, especially during homeschooling because students are dependent on their tablets and laptops to get an education. Thus, poor families are not getting treated equally and their child does not have a chance to learn and to get a good education. To conclude, it is clear that technology in schools is a controversial topic. Of course, it has some advantages of for the environment and to prepare the students for their future jobs, however if you do not have the money to buy your child a tablet, they do not have a chance to get an education.