In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion can/should be done about it?

A common problem nowadays is, that many graduates with a high-level degree do not have a job. This essay will suggest, the technological improvements and the phenomenon called “brain drain” as possible causes which lead to the problem of unemployment. Furthermore, it will submit the expand of companies in the world as possible solution for qualified graduates to get a job. Due to globalization and the technical improvements in companies, many jobs get taken over from machinery. This leads to the problem of the loss of jobs because machinery is now able to complete work previously done by humans. Furthermore, the problem is that this phenomenon will continue to expand over the whole world because due to machinery, companies do not have to pay employees anymore. Especially the western countries are known for their few low-skilled or unskilled jobs, however an increasing number of high-skilled jobs become extinct too. Not only machinery and technology are the reasons for that but a phenomenon called “brain drain” which gets intensified, due to globalization. It is basically the migration of high-skilled workers or graduates from one country to another. This happens because globalization offers people the chance to study or work in a country with better economic resources like California. California is the destination many high degree graduates wish to work because they have lots of chances there. For example, the Silicon Valley is a highly recommended place for workers, due to the wide range of experiment possibilities. However, this leads to the problem that too many workers migrate to one place and thus, not everyone gets a job. In spite of all the problems, there are many different solutions. First of all, we should stop the process of “brain drain” because it has also a negative affect for the countries rather people migrate. In order to encourage people to stay we need to have more jobs chances. This could work, if companies start to expand over the world in order to offer everyone in every culture a job. An example for this is the company SAP. This huge technology company situated many companies all over the world, thus people are encouraged to stay in their own country and furthermore many people get the chance to work in the working field in which they have specialized themselves in. Additionally, machinery is an opposing topic in the work-life and many people argue that it should be expand even more. However, it should not reach a level of complete unemployment. To ensure that this is not happening, nowadays there are many labor law policies in Europe and the US which make sure that a company provides employment for humans. Thus, they are not allowed to replace humans completely with technology. To conclude, it is clear that even though there are many problems of high-skilled unemployment, there are many ways like policies or the expand of companies over the world to solve such problems. In my opinion, we should be careful with the practice of replacing real workers with machinery. That’s because technology is not perfect and most of the time human make better and sufficienter job.