Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People seem to be divided over the issue of whether a today’s primarily environmental problem is a myriad of endangered creatures’ dying out at a shocking rate or not. Others, however, adopt a clear stance in favor of other significant environmental conundrums. The former idea, admittedly, seems to be more logical. Considering the fact that a number of imperiled flora and fauna are soaring at an alarming rate, the proponents seem to give priority to such a pressing problem. This issue can bring about loss of biodiversity, interfering with the ecological equilibrium of the biosphere. Not only can such disruption take its toll on the food chain but also this can represent a real threat to humanity, ranging from their being deprived of sufficient food resources to their inability to attain medical achievements. Such irreversible loss would act as a stumbling block to the ideal standard of humans’ lives, casting a blight on their well-being. Held against the aforementioned mindset is to attach more significance to other environmental difficulties a concrete example of which constitutes climate change. This perception is highly advocated by the opponents. It is believed that by taking climatic changes into consideration a myriad of obstacles with which people are grappling such as draought, extreme weather and floods can be to a large extent addressed. Contrary to the common belief, this is not to say that such deviation from expected climatic patterns will not have catastrophic consequences on wildlife and inhabitants, but this challenge, conceivably, seems to be trivial by comparison to the growing extinction of endemic species of sentient beings in addition to irreplaceable flora. Such depletion would presumably pose floods and other problems, stemming from the loss of biodiversity. Only when climate change can be eradicated, is the decimation of animate beings averted. To encapsulate, considering both sides of the argument, other environmental challenges such as climate change, presumably, seem to pale by comparison to the growing problem of a remarkable number of species’ being in jeopardy, inasmuch as such loss would per se bring about extreme weather and other irrefutable environmental issues.