Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Other say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Along with human activities, more and more environmental problems appear. People have different views about which is the main environmental issues. Some people think that the extinction of particular species of plants and animals is the main problem. Many human activities are directly or indirectly destroy our environment. For example, extensive deforestation and excessive fishing and hunting destroys forests and ocean significantly, then contribute to the loss of plants and animals. Furthermore, the destruction of habitats causes some rare animals extinction. In addition, some people want to show themselves status from buying expensive fur and ivories, which leads to a large amount of poaching. Also, the loss of individual species of plants and animals would result in many serious consequences. For instance, extensive deforestation would cause water and soil erosion and flooding, which generates severe economic loss and casualties. Therefore, the survival of plants and animals is important to people. Others believe that there are more important environmental problems, such as climate change and air pollution. For instance, with the rapid development of industry, many factories emit large amounts of carbon dioxide, which would lead to global warming and the sea level rise. Also, extreme weather phenomena are more and more common. As a result, governments have to pay more funds to reduce these extreme phenomena' impact. In addition, these factories emit a mass of harmful substances, which not only damage people's health, but also destroy forests and soil by acid rain. Without forests and soil, the grain output would reduce and many people would starve. In my opinion, although the loss of individual species of plants and animals may cause many issues, I believe that there are more important problems such as climate change and air pollution should be paid attention and need organizations and individuals to address.