Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by many that the main environmental issue currently is the extinction of certain kind of species of plants and animals, while there are others who think more vital environmental problems exist. In my opinion, the loss of a particular species of plants and animals is very crucial for the ecosystem, whereas other important environmental problems also exist which are detrimental for the population. On the one hand, the loss of plants and animals’ species is a major problem for the ecosystem. If a certain kind of plant disappears from the environment, take, for example, sunflower plant, bees which feed on the flowers of this plant will have no food to eat which will eventually exacerbate the lives of bees. In the same way, if extinction of a particular species of animal occurs, the other animals depending on them will be affected. This will lead to an imbalance of the ecosystem. On the other hand, several other important environmental problems are present in our time. Firstly, one of them is air pollution which is terribly deleterious for the health of the humans. The air combustion causing from car fuels is spreading out to the environment. Thus, people around are inhaling such toxic air and as a result, causing lungs diseases, for instance asthma. Another environmental issue is water pollution. Unfortunately, a number of industries are present in the residential area even though this should happen. Due to this, the chemicals running out from the industries are mixing with the nearby lakes or rivers of the residences. Therefore, the household members who are consuming the water from these places are getting sick gradually. As a matter of fact, they may get cancer from these harmful chemicals. In conclusion, I believe that both the environmental problems are very much crucial. Loss of a particular kind of plants and animals will lead to an imbalance of ecosystem and the other issues of pollutions are no less of an importance for the human beings. People around us can help mitigate these problems and also help in further destruction.