Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both veiws and give your opinion

According to some people, the extinction of certain species of plants and animals are responsible for the environmental problems. At the same time, there are opinions other than this. However, for me, there are lot of problems apart from the loss of plants and animals, which are the reasons behind the environmental issues. The disappearance of plants and animals can be one of the issues that affect the environment. The entire ecosystem is maintaining their life through a food chain. However, if one of the links is lost, this will ultimately lead to the instability of the dependants. For instance, the carnivorous animals like Lion, Tiger etc feed on the herbivorous ones like deer and rabbits. When the predators get disappeared, it will consequently increase the number of the herbivores animals. Eventually, they eat more grasses and food crops for their existence. Thus, the food production will reduce drastically. Moreover, the humans who depend on the food crops will suffer. Addition to this, other factors like pollution greatly affect the nature. The harmful gases produced from factories, exhaust of vehicles, etc deteriorate the atmosphere. For example, the emission of CO2 gases leads to the depletion of ozone layer. This will eventually cause the global warming. Consequently, due to high temperature, the ice bergs melt and the water level rises. If this situation continues, it will lead to several issues like flood. In the same way, the water bodies are also facing a bad situation. As the population grows, the waste production also grows. Usually, people dump wastes in water bodies, thereby becoming a great threat to the marine lives. In my opinion, most of the human activities are disturbing the entire ecosystem. Along with the extinction of plants and animals, the practices like dumping wastes in open air and water bodies, use of highly poisonous chemicals or gases in production industries, etc are the biggest challenge to the world. To conclude, environmental problems are becoming crucial these days. The loss of wildlife is one of the reason. Above all, pollution and the consequent climatic problems are the bigger challenges to the existence of life on the planet.