Some people say that the best way to reduce traffic congestion is to provide free bus service 24 hours per day, 7 days a week.

Nowadays, traffic jam has become a major problem of living in urban areas. There is a school of thought that providing free services of public transportation like bus is the most effective solution to this particular drawback. While I agree that it can be a great way to reduce the number of peak hours, improving transport facilities is a far superior option. To begin with, it must be acknowledged that making bus service completely free of charge can be beneficial for several reasons. Firstly, people would undoubtly find bus to be more viable mean of travelling should this policy be enforced. This will undoubtedly reduce the number of private vehicles, which are the key factors of traffic congestion. Secondly, a full-time bus system means that individuals can be more flexible with their schedule. As a matter of fact, the main reason why people still prefer cars despite the cost is because they can travel without worrying about the time of departure. However, I would argue that making improvement in transport facilities is much more effective than the aforemention method. To begin with, the deteriorating roads are actually the causes of numerous accidents, which not only cause detrimental impacts on human lives but also prevent the flow of traffic. Therefore, governments are recommended to spend expenditure on modifying highways and road signs to minimize the frequency of accident. Moreover, subway or bus systems are in dial need of transformation, since they are reknowned for being slow and full of little inconvenience. Indeed, experts claims that people would be willing to pay more for a well-monitored, modern public means of transport. In conclusion, while the benefits of free bus service cannot be denied, I believe that making the necessary adjustments to the current travelling system would be better in the long term.