Some people say that teachers have more influence on students.

Students’ role models and their influence towards students has always been a topic of interest. Some people believe that the influence coming from mentors at school is wholly greater than that of the parental figures at home. I partially disagree with the aforementioned notion due to the different categories that either parents or teachers would influence the students in. On the one hand, when it comes to knowledge and the development of a student’s intelligence, teacher's guidance would be more accurate than parental guidance. This is because teachers have better understanding of the student’s academic performance on campus, as teachers have examination results in their hands and they could observe one’s academic journey at school through small consecutive tests and the attitude of the students towards them in classes. In addition, they are able to give advice that further improves the student’s performance at school, and even assists the student when they have difficulties in understanding the knowledge being instilled to them by giving examples based on daily life or simplifying the theories even more. This type of influence would greatly affect one’s academic performance and further on helping them gain bigger achievements. On the other hand, parents would have more influence on their children in shaping their personality and behavior. Parents could clearly observe childrens’ behaviour around people and how they would act in everyday situations, furthermore preventing them from behaving incorrectly such as cussing or brawling. In addition, as parents have always been a vital part to their children’s life, it is evident that they inherit certain traits from their parents. These traits often manifest themselves in daily life, forming children’s lifelong character and personality. All in all, it is clearly observable that parents and teachers both have an equal amount of influence that improves different aspects of the students that the others cannot. While parents can be the persona of the student, the teachers can be the motivation for them to study harder everyday.