Some people say that shops should sell the food products of local markets whenever possible, rather than importing from abroad.

Many people believe that outlets should sell the eatables produced by the local markets instead of importing from other parts of the world. However, I agree that such a trend will certainly help the economy by reducing cost and providing more employment opportunities in spite of few drawbacks. People who support the idea of selling eatables of local markets believe that such trend will, firstly, help in cutting costs. A lot of taxes and duties need to be paid while importing food products. Selling the products of the local markets help in saving these taxes. Saving in direct and indirect overheads helps in reducing overall cost. This results in wider availability of these products to all income level people. Another advantage is the conservation of foreign currency which otherwise has to be paid to pay for the imports. In addition to this, marketing local products helps in enhancing employment opportunities. Markets need to be loaded with a variety of products in order to reduce the reliance on imports. Therefore, a variety of food products need to be produced at their own. Hence, the local people get myraid of employment opportunities. For example, women can make sweets and snacks at home and supply to local shops to sell this products. Selling localised products has its own drawbacks too. Firstly, local products lack standardisation. People don't buy these products considering these of inferior quality. However, few rules and regulations should be made to ensure the quality of these products. To conclude, selling local products help in reducing overall cost and improving employment opportunities. However such a trend has few drawbacks, but the benefits far outweigh the disadvantages.