Some people say that schools should concentrate on steaching students academic subjects that will be useful for their future careers. Other people say that subjects such as music and sports are also necessary. Dis cuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is hard to overstate the importance of schooling: it decides what kind of person we become, what kind of career we will have, and ultimately what kind of life we will lead. Therefore, what should and should not be taught at school is necessarily a perennial debate. Some assert that schools should focus on disciplines that will be directly relevant to one's occupation in the future, while others state that courses like sports and music should also be included in the curriculum. Both viewpoints are justifiable, but I personally lean towards the latter. On the one hand, academic subjects are indeed very important. It could be said that the foremost objective of people who attend school is to have a financially viable career after they finish. To this end, the bulk of curriculum should be dedicated to core subjects like Maths, Science, and Language, whose performance is placed heavy emphasis by higher education institutions and employers alike. On the other hand, subjects like sports and music cannot be discounted altogether. While they may not be directly helpful in securing development, they indirectly make technical expertise and qualificaions of applicants and attach greater importance to attributea like adaptability, creavity and collaborative skills. These qualities are arguably better cultivated in experieces like playing music or competing in team sportes than in academic lessons. Anathor compelling reason why non-academic subjects should be taught at school is that it allow young takents in athletic and artistic fields to be discovered. Without the opportunity to participate in these activities at elementary or secondary level, musically inclined individuals or those who are endowned with an aptitude for sports will be denied the chance to achieve their full potential. In conclusion, academic subjects should no soubt be give precedence in school, but it is also important that students should be taught other subjects like music or sports.