Friends have more influence than family to teenagers.

Nowadays, families and friends are the most important things in the teenager's life. The teenagers are spending more and more time of their life for their friends than their families. It's true that it's easier to share with friends than families because their friends as many things in common with them and the generation gap prevents the teenager from show some things with their parents. For example, when they want to chase some clothes, the teenagers will want to have some advices from their friends because they know more about style and fashion plate of young people than the parents. Having friends and feeling connected to a group gives teenagers a sense of belonging and being valued, which helps develop self-esteem and confidence. Friendships also help teenagers learn important social and emotional skills, like being sensitive to other people's thoughts, feelings and wellbeing. Friends are important – they give us a feeling of belonging, bring fun and laughter, lend an extra hand, offer emotional support, and give guidance when you need it. And, whether you realize it or not, their influence goes well beyond the moment. Your close friendships help to shape the course of your life. Why teenage friendships are importantFor teenagers, good friends can be like a personal support group. Friends and friendships give teenagers: a sense of belonging, a feeling of being valued and help with developing confidence the sense of security and comfort that comes from being with others going through similar experiences information about the changes that puberty brings, and what’s going on physically and emotionally a way to experiment with different values, roles, identities and ideas experience in getting along with people of the opposite sex a chance to experience early romantic and sexual relationships a social group to do new things with, especially things that are different from what families do. Understanding the balance between friends and parents Teenagers spend less time with their parents and much more time with friends. Some parents worry that these intense friendships will take over and friends will become more important than family. But your child still needs you and the secure base you provide. Being interested and available lets your child know that he can turn to you when he needs to. As your child gets older and more mature, you might also notice that your child gives you some support too. Teenagers do share a lot with and copy a great deal from their friends. For example, teenagers might change their behaviour, appearance or interests to show that they belong to a certain group of friends. These changes are usually just experimentation. As long as your child isn’t doing anything destructive or dangerous, this kind of behaviour can actually be a positive sign that your child feels supported and confident enough to try something new.