Some people say that school children should learn how to grow food and cook with it in their lessons. What is your opinion about that?

Many individuals believe that farming and culinary skills should be taught to children as part of the school curriculum. Although I agree with this idea of teaching children to prepare their own meal and appreciate it, it should be done only when children reach a certain age group. Firstly, teaching children to farm indirectly inculcates the habit of not wasting food. When children learn how much effort it takes to grow crops, they appreciate its importance and would take appropriate actions to avoid wastage. For instance, there are more than 30% of people below the poverty line in developing countries. Creating an awareness of food wastage among younger people will go a long way in spreading the idea to their immediate family members. Secondly, teaching cooking to children helps them to survive when they are short of resources. For example, most children depend on their parents for their daily meal until they move out of their home. When they do have to support themselves, while studying in college, cooking would come handy. Instead of spending money to buy eatables at restaurants, if they cook at home, it would be a lot cheaper and more healthy. Finally, educating children with life skills like farming and cooking will benefit them immensely. Despite its usefulness, culinary skills should be taught to the children only when they attain 14 years of age and above. For instance, younger people who are below this are not mature enough to handle any kitchen accidents on their own. They should be encouraged to practice cooking under the supervision of their parents. To conclude, creating awareness about food wastage should be targeted at the grassroots level. I don't see any better place than the school to cultivate this information. Cooking is an essential skill that everyone should have, and it should be taught to children at school after an appropriate age when they have enough knowledge to manage things on their own.