Some people say that protecting the environment is the government's responsibility. Others believe that every individual should be responsible for it.

Safeguarding the environment is noticed by a certain set of people to be the government's duty while some other set of people agreed that it should be everyone's responsibility. Although the view seems to be logical when considering the amount involved in securing both lives and properties. Nevertheless, it should be a task observed by each and every individual since they are the very first point of contact. To the best of my thinking, I strongly believe it should be more of the government in power rather than individual. Protecting the neighbourhood requires a sumptuous amount of capital. Materials and equipments needed to meet up with the challenges of securing a safe environment are something which an individual might not be able to easily access. Therefore, it is expected of the national administration to be involved. Such equipments like rifles, tear-gas, bulletproof, safety van and many others needs an approval before they can be procured. This would easier for the agencies responsible for safety to acquire. Example of this is the establishment of Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps, which is responsible for monitoring petroleum materials pipe lines. In other to record a success in this area, there is a need to equip and motivate the officers and all these cannot be achieved with empty treasury. Moreover, the citizens are closer to their surroundings than the higher authority. Protecting the society requires a close attention and being vigilant. Therefore, since the individuals are the one dwelling in the areas, there is a need for them to tighten up the security within their domain, such as; putting gates and position local vigilante in strategic places to guide against invasion by the armed bandits as well as kidnappers. As you lay your bed, so you lie on it. In conclusion, the authority should be charged with the responsibility of ensuring adequate security as against the view of a certain set of individual who believed that the safeguarding of the environment should be the sole responsibility of individuals. I wish to make it clear here that; without mincing of words considering the huge resources required to oversee the environmental issues, the government being the highest authority of our dear nation should be responsible with the task of securing a peaceful territory for both the citizens and the domain at large.