Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Others believe that every individual should be responsible for it.

In this day and age pollution is a present problem that needs to be tackled urgently. A dichotomy appears in opinion whether the governors or the citizens are responsible for solving this issue. From my standpoint, both authorities and the dwellers are equally accountable for finding a solution. First and foremost, it is undeniable that each individual can contribute towards the well environment protection. The car use is a major source of carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide and other harmful gas, which affect the ozone layer, causing global warming. If personal vehicles would be used only occasionally, carbon footprint decreased significantly. For example, Norway has a growing biking culture, therefore Norway's carbon emission statistically gets lower every year. On the other hand, the government plays a vital role in the environment protection. Laws and regulations raise awareness of the pollution and prohibit major causes of it. To illustrate, the Lithuanian Parliament proposed a legislation for factories that does not allow them to be near the urban areas. Therefore the poisonous gas and wastewater do not contaminate cities. To conclude, various forms of contamination of court in modern society, affecting the environment. As far as I am concerned, the government should contribute to the individuals to form cleaner surroundings. Otherwise, the pollution will reach an intolerable level.