Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

It is predicted that only one language will be spoken all around the globe in the future. While there are certain drawbacks of this development, I would argue that it is more beneficial for our society. On the one hand, the fact that humans will only speak one language can lead to inevitable consequences. When people around the world use the same language on a daily basis, this would lead to the disappearance of a great number of other languages. As a result, there would be a great loss in terms of cultural and traditional values. Take Vietnam as an example. Due to the increasing popularity of English, this country is currently being greatly affected by Western cultures, especially through Western media such as films and books. For instance, young Vietnamese individuals nowadays tend to celebrate Western special occasions such as Christmas or Valentine's Day even more than traditional Vietnamese festivals. However, I believe that the increasing use of only one language is a positive development. The first advantage is that it would allow people from different parts of the world to communicate with each other in a much easier way. This would help to facilitate many areas including business transactions, tourism and global cooperation. Another benefit is that it would be easier for people to research and acquire new knowledge when everything is written and published in the same language. For example, university students can easily look for materials produced by authors all around the world instead of only being able to read what is written in their native language. In conclusion, I believe that the benefits of speaking the same language globally are much greater than its drawbacks.