some people say that parents shouyld encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. others say it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

The idea that children should occupy themselves during their leisure time is a frequent topic of discussion among parents. While some people believe that children are to be encouraged to engage in organized group activities, other people think that it is beneficial for them to be able to keep themselves occupied when they are less busy. In my opinion, I believe children would benefit tremendously when they are exposed to working together in a group, rather than being independent. To begin with, it is thought by some that parents are to persuade their young ones to take part in group activities when they are less occupied and I completely agree. This is because they learn how to work with their mates when they are together as a group. With this, they gain co-operation skill which is vital for them to succeed in the work force. Again, children who take part in organized group functions are exposed to the views of their peers and as such they learn new ways of doing things. For instance, children given the task to learn a new musical instrument or compose a song can have a broader perspective to life and ensure they become valuable members of the society. Furthermore, interacting with others in various activities will help children develop competitive skills that will ultimately teach them the importance of working hard to become successful in life. On the other hand, some people say that it is necessary for children to learn how to engage themselves without others, for the reason that they learn how to become independent. A child who is able to study on his own, for instance, will be able to work independently and achieve outstanding performance with less supervision. Again, children can develop the habit of working with minimal support, if they learn how to engage themselves on their own. This skill will be useful in future when they set out on their own as it gives them an edge over and above their counterparts. In addition, they considerably become self-sufficient as they begin to realize that they can outperform others without looking up to others for support. In conclusion, while some say it is vital for children to develop how to engage themselves alone, I strongly believe it will be extremely useful for them to learn the skills of cooperation and competition when they are involved in group activities in their free time.