Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is sometimes argued that children should acquire the ability to entertain themselves alone. Although I think that there is a place for this, I prefer the view of those who believe that children ought to be encouraged to participate in activities that are arranged for groups. It is suggested by some that it is beneficial for children to do solitary activities in their free time because this can improve their concentration skills. Reading is the most obvious example of an activity requiring this ability and it is likely that it will help children with studying for difficult exams. However, when left to their own devices, many children tend to spend too much time on one preferred activity. Alternatively, they may drift into unhealthy pursuits, such as violent video games. As a result, I feel that parents should ensure that the time that children spend alone on leisure is limited. Despite the positives of activities pursued alone, I agree with those who see a variety of advantages for children from arranged group activities. One such activity is camping trips organized by scouting associations, where they can be trained in how to erect tents and other useful practical skills. This activity and sports like football also teach children to respect authority of leaders and to collaborate with others to achieve specific goals. All these skills make a significant contribution to the development of young people into responsible adults. As such, I believe that most of their free time should be dedicated to organized group activities. In conclusion, while solitary leisure activities have some value for children, I am firmly of the view that parents ought to make sure that a significant amount of their leisure time is devoted to group activities.