Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

There are two different types of parenting, some parents like to raise their child to be independent and leave them to choose how to spend his/her time. Other parents like to raise their child on teamwork so they prefer to encourage their child to attend an organized activity. Both sides have merits and demerits. Personally, I am convinced that an organized group is important to the child. First, parents who encourage their child to attend an organized group like football, basketball, ballet, and gymnastic think of how these kinds of organizations can be beneficial. To start with, such activities help the child to improve their social skills and increase his/her self-esteem. Children will learn how to participate in groups. Moreover, Kids will learn how to be productive and use their time in an organized way. It is also safe because there is always an adult watching them all the time. Besides, the future needs these kinds of children who can work in a group to achieve a common goal with a good spirit. On the flip side, not all kids have a chance to participate in such organized events because of any kinds of reasons, so parents left them alone at home. Here comes the challenge of how children can spend their time productively. Children who are left at home alone learns how to be independent. Kids learn how to cook, take care of their younger siblings, read a book for themselves, and paint. The downside to spending time alone is that not all the children will use it constructively. Most of them will keep playing on the PlayStation and computer. Unfortunately, this practice does not help them and they will suffer in the future. According to the comparison, I am inclined to believe that encourages children to participate in well-organized events is more beneficial than spending time alone at home as parents are not always free to guide them. To summarize, Children need to be watched either at home or in an organized group to make sure that they spend their free time in a productive way.