Experimental investigation of pre-evacuation effect on the high altitude test of a parabolic nozzle with second throat exhaust diffuser

The present study is carried out to investigate the influences of pre-evacuation of high altitude test facility on startup performance of second throat diffuser during the experimental test of a thrust optimized parabolic (TOP) nozzle. These types of nozzles are of great importance in space applications, including satellite launch vehicles. In this study, an experimental sub-scale set-up is used called high-altitude testing equipment with compressed air as working fluid. Due to the importance of the dimensionless parameter of the area ratio of the cross-section of the diffuser inlet to the cross-section of its second throat, the effect of changes in this parameter has been investigated on the start-up performance of the nozzle and diffuser. to evaluate the instantaneous performance, the pressure was instantly applied to the nozzle chamber in two accompanying modes with and without pre-evacuation of the system, In each of the fixed diffuser geometries. And vacuum chamber pressure and static pressure distribution are measured along the diffuser length. Results show that starting the diffuser with pre-evacuation takes 50 to 60 percent less time than without pre-evacuation. Furthermore, pre-evacuation of the test chamber can eliminate separation pattern transition pattern during start-up of the nozzle and diffuser. It has also been observed that minimum diffuser starting pressure increases as the second throat cross-section is decreased down to a certain value in which flow is choked.