Some People Say That Parents Should Encourage Their Children To Take Part In Organized Group Activities

It is believed by some people that parents should motivate their children to spend their leisure time by participating in group activities. However, others opine that children should spend their free time in their own way. In my opinion, group learning has more merits than self-learning. To begin with, engaging in group activities can enhance young children’s social abilities. Interacting with other people in the group can help children to acquire team-work capabilities and they end up gaining a high level of confidence. For instance, motivating juveniles to enrol in activities like cricket, painting competitions and arts can help them to gain skills required to cope with the pressure of working in a group and competing with others in a healthy manner. Furthermore, group activities are safe because they are always guided by a supervisor of the team. This helps them to be disciplined and it can be beneficial for them in the future. On the other hand, if children are told to keep themselves occupied on their own, they are more likely to spend their time playing video games and browsing the internet. This could have serious implications for their health and even academic grades. Also, staying in front of the TV or computer all day will hurt their social skills and they may even become socially aloof. Of course, if children engage in activities like painting or reading during their free time, it will definitely benefit them. Unfortunately, this not what most kids do these days if they get some free time. In conclusion, spending time in group activities can help children to develop collaboration and team effort skills. By contrast, if children are told to keep themselves occupied on their own, they might just waste time watching TV or playing computer games.